Chair: Dan MacLean, P.Eng.

Dan is grateful to have been selected as the chair of ISM, a great organization that he has been actively involved in for the past 15 years. He first heard of the organization when Past Chair Jim Bruce attended ISM events all over the world in the late 1990s and early 2000s, and he had to stay back at the office. Dan initially became part of the organizing committee for the International Workshop on Micropiles (IWM) in Toronto in 2007, which he also attended. After attending the IWM in London in 2009, he participated again on the organizing committee for the workshop in Washington, D.C. in 2010. For the workshops in Krakow (2014) and Vancouver (2017) he was the technical chair for the programs.

Dan is a professional engineer in Ontario, Canada, with 15 years of experience. Following his graduation from Queen's University with a degree in mining engineering, he worked for Geo-Foundations from 2001-2004. In 2004, he left the construction side of the geotechnical industry to enter the supply side with Con-Tech Systems Ltd., as an engineer. In 2014, he became president at Con-Tech Systems.

Throughout his tenure with Con-Tech Systems, Dan became heavily involved in industry associations. He has been chair of the ADSC/DFI Micropile Committee and part of the PTI Committee for the latest rewrite of the Recommendations for Pre-Stressed Rock and Soil Anchors. He is currently research chairman and National Board Member of ADSC, and a member of the Professional Engineers of Ontario, International Association of Foundation Drilling, International Society for Micropiles, Deep Foundations Institute, Canadian Geotechnical Society, Post Tensioning Organization and Canadian Dam Association.

Dan has spoken at many conferences, with most of his presentations focusing on micropiles or anchor earth retention.

In both 2010 and 2013, Dan was the recipient of the ADSC President Award for his efforts within the association.

Dan is married to his wife Deanna, and they have two boys named Matthew and Ethan.

Steering Committee

ISM's Steering Committee is responsible for defining the strategic direction of ISM and comprises one member from each founding country, plus ISM's Honorary Chairman. Current Steering Committee members are listed below.

Tom Armour, P.E., D.GE, DBM Contractors, Inc. (USA)
Dr. Donald Bruce, C.Eng, D.GE, Geosystems, L.P. (Honorary Chairman)
Andreas Brandner, IB-Brandner (Austria)
Björn Ischebeck, Fried. Ischebeck GmbH (Germany)
Prof. Jouko Lehtonen, Turku University of Applied Sciences (Finland)
Nadir Ansari, Isherwood Associates (Canada)
Masao Sagara, Fujita Research Corporation (Japan)
Paul Woodfield, C.Eng, Technik GS (U.K.)
Allan Herse, Piling and Civil Australia (Australia)

ISM Secretary: James Mason, Ph.D., P.E. (National Park Service) (USA)
ISM Technical Lead and DFI Liaison: Mary Ellen Bruce Large, P.E., D.GE
ADSC Liaison: Peggy Hagerty Duffy, P.E., D.GE

Become an ISM Member
Click here to submit an abstract for the 14th International Workshop on Micropiles, August 21-24, 2019, Australia
Proceedings of the 13th International Workshop on Micropiles - 2017, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Learn more about the DFI-ADSC Joint Micropile Committee